park logo

Park Systems Webinar - Thursday March 8, 2018

 

 
 

Join us for a webinar to learn about a cutting-edge application of nanoscientific research:


Unraveling Amyloid Formation and Heterogeneity by AFM Single Molecule Statistical Analysis

    The understanding of the mechanisms of amyloids formation and polymorphism is of fundamental importance to gain biophysical insights into the potential toxicity of the intermediate aggregation species. The comprehension of these fundamental processes could allow the design of pharmacological approaches to contrast the onset of amyloid diseases.

    Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM) has emerged in the last decades as one of the most powerful and versatile single molecule techniques because of the possibility to acquire 3-dimensional morphology maps of specimens on a surface. This capability has been widely used in the field of protein aggregation and amyloid fibrils formation.
    Dr. Ruggeri explains in the webinar how a simple AFM map can provide extremely valuable information at the nanometer scale on the structure of amyloid fibrils, such as height, width, periodicity, flexibility and packing of single protofilaments inside mature fibrils. Furthermore, he shows that the possibility to analyze the morphology at several time points, during the process of amyloid aggregation, enables to shed light on the mechanisms of protein misfolding, on the pathway of fibrillization and the hierarchical polymorphic process of assembly.

   
Park Systems staff
Dr. Francesco Simone Ruggeri
Centre for Misfolding Diseases & Darwin College, University of Cambridge, UK

About Dr. Francesco Simone Rugger

Francesco Simone Ruggeri is a Junior Research fellow at the Darwin College and Research Fellow at the Department of Chemistry & Center for Misfolding Diseases at the University of Cambridge. Both at Cambridge and previously at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), his research is focused on the biophysical characterization of proteins at the single molecule scale by means of atomic force microscopy based techniques. This approach has brought new insights into the formation and structural characterization of misfolding proteins and their correlation with the onset of neurodegenerative disorders.

Register by clicking session below:

Thursday, March 8, 2018

ONLINE REGISTRATION PAGE

  • San Francisco (PDT): 8:00 AM
  • Boston, New York (EDT): 12:00 PM
  • London (UTC): 4:00 PM  
  • Berlin (UTC +1): 5:00 PM
 

Webinar Details


Date:

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Time: 

(PDT): 8:00 AM

San Francisco, Los Angeles

(EDT): 12:00 PM

Boston, New York

(UTC): 4:00 PM

London

(UTC +1): 5:00 PM

Berlin

 

Register Now!

caulk
--




--> AFM image of amyloid fibrils of
α-synuclein, the protein involved in
the onset of Parkinson’s disease.


 

System Requirements 

  Go To Webinar

PC-based attendees

Windows XP, Windows Server 2008 or later 

Mac-based attendees

MacOS 10.8 or later

 

 

Park Lectures - Park Atomic Force Microscope

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
Go to PRIVACY & COOKIE POLICY