|Contact Us  Global
park logo

Park Systems Webinar - December 15, 2017



Join us for a webinar to learn about one of the cutting-edge applications of nanoscientific research:

Scanning Ion Conductance Microscopy (SICM) and Scanning Electrochemical Microscopy (SECM)

    The applications staff of Park Systems is proud to present an introduction to both scanning ion conductance microscopy (SICM) and scanning electrochemical microscopy (SECM). SICM is one type of scanning probe microscopy (SPM) technique that allows researchers to determine the surface topography of samples at nanometer range in a non-destructive manner and under in-situ conditions. SECM is another type of SPM technique that can allow researchers to investigate the local electrochemical phenomena at various materials interfaces in-liquid.

    SICM uses the increase of access resistance in a nanopipette placed in an electrolyte solution and monitors the ionic current flowing in and out of this probe—a flow that is hindered as the tip closes in on a sample surface. In SECM, an electrode tip is used to acquire spatially resolved electrochemical signals over a region of interest. The 2D raster scan information can then be compiled to provide users with images of surface reactivity and information on the rates of chemical processes.

    Join us as the Technical Marketing staff at Park Systems, explains the basics of both SICM and SECM and reviews potential applications for each technique separately and jointly for investigations in analytical chemistry and electrochemistry.

Park NX10 SICM

The Park NX10 equipped with a SICM head and sample under aqueous solution loaded for topographical characterization with a nanopipette.

Register by clicking session below:

Friday, December 15, 2017


  • PDT (UTC-7): 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • EDT (UTC -4):  2:00 PM - 3:00 PM 
  • BST (UTC): 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM 
  • CEST (UTC +1): 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Webinar Details


Friday, Dec 15, 2017


11:00 am – 12:00 pm (PDT)

San Francisco, Los Angeles

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm (EDT)

Boston, New York

7:00 pm – 8:00 pm (BST)


8:00 pm – 9:00 pm (CEST)

Paris, Rome


Register Now!


Electrochemistry Cell

SICM topography and SECM electrochemical images of nanopore membrane sample.

Image Credit: Baker Group, Indiana University


System Requirements 


PC-based attendees

Windows XP, Windows Server 2008 or later 

Mac-based attendees

MacOS 10.8
or later



Park Lectures - Park Atomic Force Microscope