|Contact Us  Global
park logo
Park Systems  Webinar -  May 18, 2017


Join us for a webinar to learn about one of the cutting-edge applications of nanoscientific research:

Piezoelectric Force Microscopy (PFM)

 The applications staff of Park Systems is proud to present an introduction to Piezoelectric Force Microscopy (PFM), a characterization technique derived from Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM) that utilizes the piezoelectric effect of materials to generate contrast.

From the day that AFM was introduced to the contemporary research frontier, new modes, and applications have emerged with unprecdented speed, allowing this veratile tool to look into ever-increasing aspects of local material properties at nanoscale. PFM is one such novel mode which has gained recognition for the unique information it can offer on the electromechanical coupling characteristics of various ferroelectric, piezoelectric, polymer, and biological materials.

Join us as Dr. Christina Newcomb, Applications Scientist here at Park Systems, explains the basics of PFM, common uses of the technique, and even a breakdown of an actual PFM study on the properties of multilayer ceramic capacitors.

The electrical response from samples (such as Multilayer Ceramic Capacitors, above) allow us to unambiguously assign dielectric and electrode layers using PFM.

Register by clicking session below:

Thursday, May 18, 2017


  • PDT (UTC-7): 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • EDT (UTC -4): 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM 
  • BST (UTC): 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
  • CEST (UTC +1): 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Webinar Details

Thursday, May 18, 2017


11:00 am – 12:00 pm (PDT)
San Francisco, Los Angeles

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm (EDT)
Boston, New York

7:00 pm – 8:00 pm (BST)

8:00 pm – 9:00 pm (CEST)
Paris, Rome

Register Now!




Multilayer Ceramic Capacitors
Seen here with a fixed leaded disc, MLCCs are the most produced and used capacitiors in electronics
Image Credit: Elcap / Wikimedia

System Requirements


PC-based attendees
Windows XP, Windows Server 2008 or later Server 

Mac-based attendees
MacOS 10.8
or later


Park Lectures - Park Atomic Force Microscope